Day Five: The Most Thankless Job.

Being a Mom (or parent, Dads you totally count too) is the hardest and most thankless job, or life endeavor you will experience. When was the last time you called your mom just to say Hi and see how she is doing? Usually you call her to tell her about your day, vent, ask questions, cry, or need advice. I have literally never called my mom to say, “Hey Mom, thank you for sacrificing everything you have including time, money, and at times your sanity for me”. Even as an adult I call my mom when I am frustrated, sad, worried about money, etc. She is still my parent and will always be a pillar for me to lean on. That is exactly who I want to be for my kids. Fuck being their friend. I want them to always be able to count on me to help them with money (within reason), emotional stability, hard life choices, and to be their voice of reason when they are doing something completely destructive and messed  up.

I say being a Mom is thankless because I have a toddler and infant and they are literally the most selfish creatures in existence (not just my kids but ALL of them). They have to depend on me for every single thing in their world. I grew them, hold them, feed them, give them water, clothes, medicine, EVERYTHING. They have zero control over anything in their lives and depend on me (and my husband) for everything. Have you even seen a toddler throw a temper tantrum? Do not be a super judgy asshole if you do because that kid is literally try to control some aspect of his or her life. I often feel like throwing my hands up when my son does this in the store and crying right along with him because he NEEDS whatever has caught his attention and trust me at that moment he truly believes he NEEDS it. He wants to control what he gets and I want to control the fact that he’s being a total asshole consumer in the middle of Target and make him realize that he will play with whatever has caught his eye for less than a day and move on and it isn’t worth crying over. Wow sorry about that crazy off topic rant… But seriously you guys I give everything to my kids all day everyday because I chose to have them and want to sacrifice everything for them because thats what a good parent does. I do this knowing that they will probably never understand how difficult and amazing being their mom actually is until they procreate themselves. The moral of the story is call your Mom, Dad, Caregiver, whoever raised you and just say hey thanks I appreciate you. (Unless they actually were a shitty parent and then fuck them you don’t need that negativity in your life and I am sorry you didn’t have as awesome of a Mom as I did).

Leave a Reply

