Day 15: Things no one tells you after you have a baby- the period edition 

Let’s just take a break from all the potty training posts (it is going awesome by the way) to talk about happens to your body after you have a baby. So many weird things happen after you have a baby. Really weird things happen after you have two… This post is about to get really real so stop if you have a weak stomach. 

Let me start by saying I was made to have children. I have big ole birthing hips and a to the minute 28 day cycle. I’m a bleeder (told you it could get really gross). I started getting my periods at the ripe old age of 9. Yes 9. My mom was the same way. I’ve been dealing this shit for almost 20 years and I didn’t think it could get any worse…. and then I had children. 

After our son was born I breastfed him until he was 4 months old without any formula supplementation. When you breast feed exclusively you aren’t supposed to menstruate. *Imagine me laughing and shaking my head.* I got my period after two months. TWO MONTHS! It wasn’t fair. No one told me when you finally get your period after having a baby it is 100 times worse than before. (Note. This isn’t scientific but everyone I have spoken to tells me the same thing so… you know). It was bad guys. I mean bad. I had PMS, I’m a super bleeder, and I can feel myself ovulate which is basically like having super cramps for a few seconds. None of these things impacted me before. None of them (except being a bleeder but not SUPER BLEEDER!). Now my second baby is a breast feeding champ. She’s never had formula and loves nursing. I still got my period after two months. Yes two. So all of the other symptoms stayed and add cramps. Yay for me! So on top of adjusting to being a new parent and all the sleep deprivation when you finally get your period after having children get ready because it will be a doozy. Sorry for the over share  but really some day you will thank me because no one warns you about this shit guys. no one. When I told my mom about how horrible my period was she just said “oh yeah that happened to me. My periods were horrible after having you guys and super heavy”, thanks for the warning mom! 

Leave a Reply

