Day 50: The doctor. 

Okay. We have an amazing pediatrician. I mean amazing. She is so great with my kids and lets me know I’m being crazy about things I don’t need to worry about. 

It never fails going to a well child check you worry about your baby. Is she hitting all of her milestones? Does she weigh enough? Is she average? With my son we obsessed about his milestones and made sure he was hitting them before he was supposed to. With my daughter we are just trying to survive having two children under the age of three. She isn’t hitting all of her milestone which instanty sends you into a shitty spiral of parent guilt. I cannot help but think to myself, “what am I doing wrong? Why can’t I help her? I’m obviously not doing a great job at this mom thing…”. Today our pediatrician told me that if she doesn’t start showing interest in crawling, pulling herself up, or cruising soon she might have to go into physical therapy. Let’s just add the to parent guilt… seriously. I love baby 1 and baby 2 the exact same amount but is my parenting so different with them that my daughter isn’t hitting her milestones. All of these gut wrenching guilt questions have been running through my mind all afternoon. 

I just have to keep reminding myself I am doing the best parenting job I can and that maybe focusing so intensely on the milestones isn’t such a bad thing…. 

Leave a Reply

